22.05.2020 Aktualizacja: 22.05.2020

President of CAA in ECAC Coordinating Committee

On May 20, 2020 during the 154. session of the Directors General of Civil Aviation of the European Civil Aviation Conference (ECAC) Mr. Piotr Samson was elected to the ECAC Coordinating Committee.

The Coordinating Committee is an executive and managing organ of ECAC. It manages the work of the organization.

During the meeting, organized in a form of a videoconference, two new members of the Coordinating Committee, comprised of up to 11 members, were elected. The ECAC member states elected Mr. Piotr Samson – President of the Civil Aviation Authority nominated by the Director General of Civil Aviation Authority of Spain and Ms. Rannia Leontaridi – the Director General of Civil Aviation of Great Britain as members of the Coordinating Committee.

The tasks and competences of the President of the CAA comprise among other things cooperation with international civil aviation organizations.

“I treated these tasks as priority since my first days in the CAA. I realized that being a member of the decision-making organs of those organizations will make the Polish voice heard. The fact that I was elected to the ECAC Coordinating Committee whose task is, among other things, the presentation of positions on behalf of 44 states in the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and in other regions around the world means that our strategy, i.e. Poland perceived internationally as a strong state, has been completed”, Piotr Samson, the President of the CAA said.

It is worth remembering that Piotr Samson was elected as the Chair of the Management Board of the European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) for a 4-year term in December 2019 and as Vice-President of the Provisional Council of the European Organization for the Safety of Air Navigation (EUROCONTROL) in December 2018.

ECAC was established in 1955. Today, it consists of 44 member states. Poland became a member of ECAC in 1990. At present, the Coordinating Committee consists of the Directors General of Civil Aviation of the following states: Sweden, France, Italy, Germany, Montenegro, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey and Great Britain.

This website uses cookies.